They are mandatory and issued under the authority of California law. You are required to comply, and it is a crime (a misdemeanor) not to follow the orders. Most people and businesses want to do what’s right for their community and Contra Costa Health Services is focusing on public health education. But in rare cases enforcement may be needed to ensure basic public safety orders are being followed. The Contra Costa County Board of Supervisors passed Ordinance No. 2020-21, allowing businesses and people not complying with COVID-19 health orders to be issued warnings, citations and, in the case of repeat offenders, fines. Fines for businesses start at $250 for the first violation and increase for subsequent violations. Fines for individuals start at $100 and increase for subsequent violations. Click for more information.
• Indoor Masking: Contra Costa County requires all people to wear masks in indoor public settings, even if they are fully vaccinated. Public indoor settings include but are not limited to: restaurants, retail stores, business offices, grocery stores, theaters, family entertainment centers, public transit, meeting rooms, and government facilities. Click here to read the full health order.
• Proof of Vaccination: Contra Costa County requires COVID-19 vaccines, or a negative test, to protect everyone against the continued spread of COVID-19 and keep Contra Costa businesses open and safe. Indoor eating and drinking establishments and exercise facilities, where masks are removed or there is heavy breathing, create higher risk environments for spreading COVID-19. Everyone 12 and older must show proof of full COVID-19 vaccination, or a negative COVID-19 test, to go into restaurants, bars, fitness facilities, and other indoor businesses where there’s an increased risk of spreading COVID-19, effective Sept. 22, 2021. Workers at these businesses must be fully vaccinated or test weekly, starting Nov. 1, 2021. Click to read the full health order.
• Other health orders: Click here to read the all health orders, including orders requiring quarantine and isolation.
To show proof of full vaccination, you can:
• Show your CDC vaccination record card, provided to you when you got vaccinated
• Show a picture or a copy of your CDC card
• Show documentation from your healthcare provider that you are fully vaccinated
• Show a personal digital COVID-19 vaccine record. If you were vaccinated in California, you can download your record onto your smartphone byvisitingmyvaccinerecord.cdph.ca.gov
People are fully vaccinated 14 days after receiving the second dose of Pfizer or Moderna COVID-19 vaccine, or 14 days after receiving one dose of a Johnson & Johnson (Janssen) COVID-19 vaccine.
COPA STC will verify vaccination or negative testing by ask each customer for photo identification and proof of full vaccination or negative test result received in the previous three days. COPA STC is required to ensure the names match on the records provided. We recommend that all COPA STC customers and patrons use a digital record of vaccination on your smartphone, so that we may scan the QR code on your screen to quickly verify your vaccination status.
• People who are not vaccinated must show a negative COVID-19 test result received in the past three days. The results must be from a nucleic acid (PCR) or antigen test that detects a COVID-19 infection.
• These tests are available through your healthcare provider, county-run sites, and state-run sites. A letter from your healthcare provider stating the result of your COVID-19 test and the date the test was performed can also be used as proof. Results from at-home COVID-19 tests are not acceptable documentation and should not be used for this purpose.